A=440 vs A=432 Leads to a Challenge

I have just had a friend recommend an article he read on the significance of Standard Tuning of A being 440 HZ or 432 HZ and the ramifications of this fact. He and I are both musicians but the implication of the article is that this 8 HZ difference represents far more than musical inclinations. From this site you can get to all sorts of discussions and controversies: Rothschild’s, Illuminati, enslavement.

This got me to the field of Cymatics and some spectacular patterns generated by sound vibrations. It also got me to a really interesting conspiracy theory basically claiming that The Pope and Hitler had tried to shift standard tuning from 432 HZ, which, they (the conspirators) claim had always been used for 2000 years because; they had discovered that this shift in frequency was what caused people to be more inclined to fight and disagree, to generate aggression. Kind of like when you are running out of your favorite <fill-in-the-blank> .

A lot of these sites basically took some very interesting and verifiable facts and combined them in some interesting ways to then generate some pretty fantastic conclusions supposedly based on these facts. Then I realized this is really what happens with every conspiracy theory. Start with an idea, preferably outrageous, and take a few facts, kludge them together and BINGO “Theory Proved.”

Now, fact checking is a bitch; someone makes a statement, maybe they reference it, maybe they don’t. Do you believe them? Here’s what I usually do. The first statement I don’t already know something about, I look up (in what I believe are reliable sources) to get some background. Then I continue with the article. If the conspirator makes a statement and I can confirm it easily I continue. After a number of these fact checks prove verifiable I can ease off and continue the article leaving out the fact checking. However, if I am going to put that article up or quote it, I really should check all of the significant statements. As Arthur C. Clark said, “If you allow me to pick and choose which facts I can use, I can prove anything.”

Unfortunately, when I applied this standard reference practice most of the conspiracy stuff just went away. The first 5 facts I looked into were just plain false. Why weren’t the great cathedral  organs tuned to 432? Why were the tuning forks of Haydn (415) and Bach (422) NOT tuned to 432? Why wouldn’t the ear cochlea adjust, over growth, to adapt to its environment? Why wouldn’t any orchestra use the tuning to lure customers back to their superior feeling music? Why aren’t we all crazy? Well, let’s hold on that one, the jury’s still out. More significantly, where is the hard evidence? Give me something. Take 2 rooms full of 6 yr olds and expose one to a 440 tone and the other to a 432? Try it for a while then switch tones. This ain’t rocket science but I think it falls squarely in the scientific method. Expose someone to 432 HZ while doing an MRI and then to 440 HZ. We can see all sorts of things. Where’s the evidence? 

It’s a pain in the ass but, ya gotta do it. “But what does this have to do with Synergetics?”, you might ask? Just this:

I contend Synergetics gives us a way to simplify the entire fact checking process by not having to keep proving the same shit over and over again, which is exactly what we are doing. Take some facts, put them together based on preconceived notions and jump to a totally irrelevant conclusion. It may be hardwired in, which is why I try to stick to a pretty strict interpretation of the Scientific Method.

Here’s how it works:

I want to take this entire idea that there is a true significance to the difference between 440 HZ and 432 HZ and see if we can’t make sense of it. But, rather than start with the conclusion ( the Pope and the Hitler had discovered something about that frequency ) and seeking facts to support what this discovery must be, let’s see if we can’t come up with a much simpler and clearer explanation for facts we are being shown. I suspect this may take a while but, I think, if we can make it work, it will be self confirming. Furthermore, we hope to demonstrate that these same facts may be recombined to explain any number of phenomena. Sacred Geometry, Holistic Medicine, Psychology, Market fluctuations, Chemistry, Physics, Languages are the ones I have looked at so far and all seem to work nicely within the network provided us by Synergetics. Not giving us predictions, but allowing us to understand what variables are truly important to the area we are exploring and giving more reliable predictability, while allowing for true freedom. In addition, it gives us several additional variables we didn’t even know we had!

The real beauty is that it is a very small set of facts. We shall refer to these as “generalized principles”, which must work everywhere and everywhen to be even considered facts and, once gotten, become the basis of any other area of the Universe we would like to explore. This is how a hologram works, this is how we apply the concept of holons and it all works together.

Sorry, no pictures yet but I am working on the models.

Stay tuned! I want to examine the work of Nassim Haramein and Frank Chester at the Rhode Island School of Design, both of whom have some very good ideas but abuse the application of their “so-called” discoveries.

One comment on “A=440 vs A=432 Leads to a Challenge

  1. As I have been researching this controversey I find that most of it is just nonsense. Yes, if the ancients, or anyone else, were to calculate pleasant tones and harmonics 432 HZ would be an excellent place to start, from a mathematical POV. It keeps the numbers whole. I guess my first question would have to be, “What does a person with “perfect pitch” hear as A?” Now, if the answer were 432 HZ I would say that would really indicate some “cosmic connection”. The fact, as near as I can research (I would like to see evidence to the contrary) “perfect pitch” is the ability to match a pitch to a reference pitch, not any standard in the human cochlea. It appears that the human response to pitch is relative and tunable as is evidenced by any number of articles and examples.
    Rather than see the effort to set a pitch standard as a conspiracy, let’s see if it may be better explained as an effort applauded by all musicians, instrument manufacturers, vocalists and travelling musicians to ease many problems created by the lack thereof.
    More interestingly, the numbers 12 and 8 and the square roots of 2 and 3 keep popping but, rather than using them as “evidence” that the ancients were really onto something, I want to take a look at where these numbers come from. They’re not evidence, they’re leftovers from a system error!

Leave a Reply

